Search South Mountain Community College Website
SMCC Cougar facebook South Mountain Community College twitter SMCC youtube Videos



Diverse Ecosystems, Fascinating Cultures and Historic Lives

Today, Spanish is an official language of Spain, most Latin American countries, and Equatorial Guinea. In all, 21 nations speak it as their primary language and it is one of the six official languages of the United Nations.

Obviously Spanish is an important part of our U.S. culture and heritage. With our close proximity to Mexico, it is important that we have a working knowledge of the language.

There are many ways to learn the Spanish language at South Mountain Community College. Whether it’s a short course in Speedy Spanish or traditional courses in Elementary Spanish and Spanish Conversation —or even specialized courses like Medical Spanish—we have the class that’s right for you.

  • Spanish counts more than 470 million native speakers worldwide, second only to Mandarin.
  • Spanish, along with French, is the official language of Equatorial Guinea, making it the only country in Africa with an official Spanish presence. The country’s official name is República de Guinea Ecuatoria.
  • As of 2011, the United States had a Hispanic population of approximately 52 million people. Of them, nearly two-thirds trace their roots to Mexico, with 86 percent indicating Spanish as their first language.
  • About 5.8 percent of the people who use the Internet speak Spanish, making it the No. 4 language in the Internet community, following:
    • English (51.3 percent)
    • Japanese (8.1 percent)
    • German (5.9 percent)
    • Chinese (5.4 percent)
    • French (3.9 percent)